Please let me know what you think of my latest interview . . .

28 Aug

First off, thanks so much to Ms. Ankhesen Mie for interviewing me as a featured guest on her blog, The Blasian Narrative. The interview can be accessed at:

http://blasiannarrative.blogspot.com/2010/08/interview-with-sam-cacas-excerpt.html#more

I also wanted to thank Ms. Audrey Kelley of Kelley Company Productions in Los Angeles for setting up this interview.

While my responses to the queries were lengthy, they also captured a lot of personal history as an Interracial Relationships spokesperson as well as my own personal IR life.

9 Responses to “Please let me know what you think of my latest interview . . .”

  1. bwoutofthebox August 28, 2010 at 8:05 pm #

    Great interview! It’s a nice balance between your involvement with African American history in D.C. and your own Filipino background.

  2. Ankhesen Mié August 29, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Don’t forget they can read the full interview here:

    http://www.ankhesen-mie.net/2010/08/at-bar-with-sam-cacas.html

  3. kenji August 29, 2010 at 10:40 pm #

    Gonna read this right now! Congrats on the interview, and I REALLY like the new look of the blog. Almost thought it was the wrong one lol

  4. lash September 2, 2010 at 4:51 am #

    Meh. This whole black woman Asian man thing is completely overblown, and just a bit bizarre.

    Asian people don’t care for blacks that much and am, who are pretty conservative, are not going to go for black women as much as they would a white girl or asian woman.

    Those YT videos depress me. It’s just a bunch of black girls posting stuff about how they like Asian guys and many don’t even have a good reason beyond the fact that they like KPOP and Hello Kitty. Many have never even been around Asians and don’t know how much Asians look down upon blacks. Those videos are embarrassing and I wish they’d stop posting them. Asian guys, for the most part, DO NOT, feel the same way. I mean, you don’t see them posting videos exclaiming their adoration for bw. It’s very sad to see. And I’ve never see an Asian Man and a Black Woman together – and I live where I should I have seen it plus I’ve lived all over the country. Besides all that, I sometimes get the feeling that Asian guys think I’m into them because I happen to look at them – I’ve seen them deliberately walk away or turn away – like I’m gonna come over to them and I’m definitely not ugly. And, I think it’s because of these obsessed black girls posting Youtube videos. They think we’re all interested in them. It’s insulting to me actually. I’m not desperate.

    I don’t know. I almost feel like Asian men like you do a disservice to black women when you perpetuate these ideas – esp. when you don’t keep it real when talking about how Asian people/culture is really disdainful of blacks.

    • nobhillwriter September 6, 2010 at 3:38 am #

      IMHO, I don’t believe my observations are overblown. I have been in BlAsian relationships for most of my life and have been public (i.e., published in Today’s Black Woman and other publications including a book) about this topic for 11 years ad running so I have had more than a minute or a year to think carefully about what I’ve stated in the interview as well as all my other recorded words. I don’t feel that sharing the views I am sharing about BW do a disservice to BW since my sharing has stemmed from BW encouraging me to share my views about this topic which many BW have told me they are curious about.

      Not sure where you negativity is coming from, but I hope you at least stay open to hearing views you disagree with.

    • bwoutofthebox September 7, 2010 at 8:14 pm #

      @lash. I don’t know what part of the country you live in, but the San Francisco Bay Area has a large population of Asians. When I started dating, there were a number of Asian men whom I dated. I didn’t have to degrade myself to get noticed. The men that I dated were very respectful. Mind you, I’m talking about 18 years ago. Today may be slightly different, but I just saw a bwam couple besides my husband and I at a club having a good time. So, please don’t judge people’s attitudes through your narrow lense.

  5. A. Chartrand September 7, 2010 at 12:14 am #

    I just listend to the video interview with Sam. Love the information, most of which I have been aware of due to a Sociology class I took that had a multi-ethnic approach to the information. Also, I have dated 4 men w/totally diverse ethnic identities, income differences (High Techies new-comers but British Educated)1st generation, Attorney 2nd generation, and a Ex-Gang member 2nd generation), and all could not have been futher apart from a male point of view.

    I am ready Sam’s book and I am on chapter 4 so far. I can’t book the book down. I am in spirit with “BlAsian Exchanges”. There are so many issues that have nothing to do with ethnic identity, but issues that have to do with freedom to choose in a society/world that puts way to much weight on racism, phenotype and group/tribal thinking. One is in a way a “slave” to their tribal grouping and societal underpinnings. I want to love who I wish to love w/o making a statement or someone else point out that I am with someone who does not look like my ethnic heritage. So F***@ing what!

    No matter what part of the world I have been in, I have had to deal with racist garbage, especialy with I am with someone who does not look African American. I have been treated like a prosititue/whore for being with a White man (ex-husband) when I was in Brazil, Argentian, and St. Thomas (US Virgin Islands). People just looked at me as if I was a devil: Their mean stares, the door man blocking my way into the 5-Star hotel that I was paying for and then I was told to check-in at 2:00 a.m. at a diffeent window – when all I wanted was my hotel key that the front desk was holding for me (they did not even wait for me to ask, they just assumed I did not belong at such a fancy hotel). I found out later that coloured women in Brazil – when they are when White looking men are prostitutes or tricking during Carnival or any other time for that matter. They feel it is unnatural for a White dude to be attracted to a cloured and African looking woman. Well, at least that is what the doorman finally confessed to and what I have read about Race/Ethnicity in Brazil stemming from they slavery past.

    Now back to the book, I can’t wait to finish reading Sam’s book. I will comment on it later. But for now, what is standing out for me is the geographic images, sincere writing, and exploring one’s physical attractions and why.

  6. ATLSis August 1, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    No, this isn’t overblown, it’s reality.

    Whether people have seen one or many AMBW couples,it goes to show that they are out there. I’m from the South and even here, I’ve seen my share of them and quite sure I will see more until the day I die. I’m even more convinced of this because my great grandparents were an AMBW couple(South Indian man/Black woman).

    Yes, You have racists people from all races,but I blame individuals,not a whole race of people as no two people are the same. That is how I see it.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Please let me know what you think of my latest interview . . . « Black woman – Asian man Weblog -- Topsy.com - August 29, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Sam Cacas, Ankhesen Mié. Ankhesen Mié said: Please let me know what you think of my latest interview . . .: http://t.co/MHHyV0Z […]

Leave a Reply

