Report on recent book readings

19 May

 

I thought I’d reminisce a little on the relatively heavy

book reading schedule I’ve maintained since April 19

last month when I launched my book at the Filipino

American Library in Los Angeles. See pics at Maria

Rochelle’s blog:

http://mariarachelle.blogspot.com/

The FAL reading was memorable for many reasons including:

the wonderful kudos-filled introduction by my cousin

Judge Casimiro Tolentino who recalled meeting me in 1975

when he was a law school intern serving in the federal office

of Asian American Affairs; the attendees’ comments/questions

including Pam Darden – member of the Original Marvelettes –

who told me “thank you for saying something positive about us

Black women”; meeting a BlAsian family whose surname is Santiago

if my recollection is correct; meeting a lady named Brittney who told me

before the reading she really enjoyed my book; FAL administrator

Jonathan Lorenzo who helped me feel more at ease before & during

the reading; and the area where FAL is located which is the Historic

Filipinotown of Los Angeles.

At the invitation of Suzanne Lo of the City College of San Francisco,

I did two readings as part of the campus’s celerbration of Asian Pacific

American Heritage month at the Southeast Campus (May 14) and Ocean

campus (May 6) and a separate reading for Philippine Studies Director

Leo Paz’s Philippine Culture & Society through film on May 14. Yes,

doing back-to-back readings on May 14 – thanks to the #12 Muni

Bus which motored me between the Southeast campus and Ocean

campus – was a bit tedious but well-worth the reactions I received

from each audience not to mention the honorarium and book sales.

So many, many thanks to Jonathan Lorenzo, Prof. Paz, Dean Veronica

Hunnicut, and Suzanne Lo for the invitations to these events and to

Cas for the wonderful introduction at the FAL reading.  I also wanted

to thank Mr. Steven Green and his wife Marie and their children for

their moral support at both Ocean campus readings. And most of all,

I wanted to thank my wife Dora Love who graced my May 6 reading

with her presence and charm.

 

Leave a Reply

